Happy Mothers Day

FullSizeRender(9)

Happy Mothers Day weekend!!!! This week I am sharing a planter style box card that I made to bring to my son and his wife as a token of appreciation for their invitation to brunch on Sunday. My daughter had a baby girl in December, so this is her very first Mothers Day! My daughter in law is having her first baby in June! Notice the scalloped circle tag nestled between the flowers? Mom to bee! Love those play on words. Stampin Up doesn’t have a bee that I could find; luckily I had one in my stash!

The link to the tutorial for the planter box can be found at http://addinktivedesigns.blogspot.com/2015/05. I only used 2 inserts though. The box is Whisper White stamped with the Hardwood stamp in Smoky Slate ink. Other than the sheet of whisper white card stock used for the box the remaining card can be made using scraps!

Of course I can say that now, but silly me actually cut card stock at 2.5 x 8.5. The colors I chose were Daffodil Delight, Pear Pizzazz, Elegant eggplant, Pink Pirouette and my favorite Melon Mambo.

The framelits used were from Botanical Builder Framelits Die set. I use this set a lot.  Here you can see that I am a very frugal paper crafter, not an inch left of my paper! I just kept cranking those dies thru, until the paper was no more. I didn’t have a plan, I thought if I had flowers left over I would just put them away to use another time. Guess what??? I used EVERY flower!!

IMG_4457

 Once I glued my flower pieces together it was time to do something with them.

IMG_4458

I had some scrap acetate sheeting and cut strips 4 inches long and the width varied between ¼ to ½ inch wide. I knew I wasn’t going to fold this card up and place it in an envelope so I was able to use some height with my “stems”. Using glue dots or tear & tape adhesive I glued down my flowers in what seemed to me a pleasing to the eye manner. This is the fun part, being a floral designer without the THORNS woohoo! Then with glue dots, dimensionals and or tear & tape adhesive I attached the stems to the planter box.

FullSizeRender(10)

The tag was cut using the Tag Topper Punch and the sentiment is from the Crazy About You stamp set. I didn’t have any Melon Mambo ribbon, but the cool thing about the Stamping Up Ink Pads is that with a mere dauber you can change any white ribbon to a color you need!  Love that!

IMG_4467

With my New Demonstrator Start Up Kit I received in January, came a Paper Pumpkin kit. That’s where I found the MOM stamp. The “To” is also from Crazy About You set. Sometimes you need to search your resources to find the perfect word from a sentiment, but I sure feel like a winner when I can make what I have work! To finish off the tag I used the 1.5 circle and 1.75 scallop circle punches.

IMG_4468

Well there you have it, my first project share.  I know I have a lot to learn about the world of blogging, but I do hope I can keep you entertained and coming back for more!  Until next week….

your silly stamper,

Liza

Leave a Reply

