Red White & Bloom!

Greetings peeps!

July 4th is my Aunts birthday.  We were actually not born in the USA so I’m sure at the time there was no significance to the day, other than it was her birthday.  But we are all in the United States and very much proud of our American Citizenship.  I thought I’d put together a red white and blue card, paper pieced similar to my Pieced Butterfly.

I cut panels from paper I had in my stash to 4.25 x 5.5  The star DSP was subtle enough to not scream Independance Day!  I placed the largest Rose from the Rose Garden Thinlits Die (#140619) face down on a panel positioning it so that its angles are at the top left and bottom right of the panel.  I used a post it note to keep the die from shifting. After running this panel thru the machine I carefully placed my rose on a sticky mat.

Next I placed the die on the blue panel. then used the negative piece of my previous rose to line up the die and ran it thru my machine.  Repeat with Red panel.

I also cut a piece of Water Color paper down to 4.25 x 5.5 and with Night of Navy Ink (#126970) and my Aqua Painter (#103954) did a little coloring.  No rhyme or reason, just some random moving around of the ink/water.  I then added a corner from the red panel, the navy Silhouette of the rose and the left corner of my star panel to my water colored panel and then added it to my card base.

IMG_5089

I didn’t want to “waste” my left over pieces and made the

The card on the left has the rose paper pieced with the negative pieces of the red panel.  The card on the right has the rose brushed with Wink of Stella Clear (#141897)

IMG_5087

I did die cut an additional rose from light blue card stock to use the negative pieces for this last card.

Here are my 4 finished cards, which one do you think I sent my Aunt?  I love them all, it was a hard decision!

FullSizeRender(14)

See you next week!

 

Leave a Reply

