Foxy Boxy!

Hi peeps!  I’ve gone mad!  I’m seriously in love with making little paper shadow boxes!  Last week I shared my Halloween version using the Cookie Cutter Halloween stamps (#142255).  When I was done with that one, I decided to make another using the Foxy Friends Bundle (#142326).  img_6291

I had been keeping it displayed in my living room and this morning my groomer noticed it and told me she loved it.  How could I not give it to her?  So I made another one this morning and thought I’d take a few pics and give you a quick tutorial for making the shadow boxes.

This size Box is 5 x 7.5 with an inside opening of 4 x 6.5 and uses one sheet of 8.5 x 11 card stock.

Score on the 11 inch side: 1/2, 7/8, 1 3/8, 1 3/4

Rotate your card stock 180 degrees and repeat the above scores

Score on the 8.5 side: 1/2, 7/8, 1 3/8, 1 3/4

Rotate your card stock 180 degrees and repeat the above scores

img_6302

Next on the short ends score at 2 1/4 and 6 1/4 BUT only up to the 2nd horizontal score!

img_6303

Next we need to cut the 4 corners away.  Start at the short score line, then cut diagonally to the next scoreline and then up and over to remove the corner.

Repeat for the remaining 3 corners.  Next burnish all score lines

Once all sides have been burnished add Tear and Tape adhesive (#138995) to the outer most fold on each side.  At this point add your background piece.

img_6308

On one long side, remove the release paper and fold over so that two score lines are over the other two, then fold one more time.  At this point you will have attached your first “wall”.

Repeat on the other long end.

Burnish and fold back and burnish again to have nicely creased box.

For the short ends repeat except be sure to lay sides flat before adhering.

Repeat for the 2nd short side.

Add a dab of liquid glue to the corner and slide the straight side under the angle on each corner.

img_6317

Decorate your shadow box.  I used my favorite critters from the Foxy Friends bundle and doubled up on Stampin’ Dimensionals (# 104430 ) to create depth, after all it’s a shadow box, not a flat card, so pop up your punches!!!!!

img_6320

That’s it for this week.  If you give this shadow box tutorial a try, let me know how it goes, sometimes what’s in my head doesn’t actually make it in a post.  That’s MS brain, but I try 🙂

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “Foxy Boxy!

Leave a Reply

