Happy St Paddy’s Day

St Patrick’s Day is just around the corner and although I’m only Irish by association, who doesn’t love a celebration that involves Green Beer, Lucky leprechauns and the phrase “Kiss me I’m Irish”?!  Our family has it’s own little tradition for this Day.  I make Grilled Reuben Sandwiches~because we do not care for the traditional corn beef and cabbage.  Sauerkraut is made using cabbage..so…CLOSE enough!  We also drink green beer and enjoy our Irish Coffee all while watching the classic John Wayne/Maureen O’Hara movie, The Quiet Man.  Haven’t seen it?  WHY NOT????  It’s pretty great!

Another tradition I have is sending cards.  I have 6 families that get a card for every holiday, sometimes my cards are labor intensive and sometimes they are much more simple.  This years St Patrick’s Day card is more simple than those I’ve made in the past it just looks like its a lot of work!

st-pat-17

I pulled out my Jar of Love Stamp Set (#141587) and their co-coordinating framelits (#141490)  To create the Shamrock I used the heart from the Love Notes Framelits (#142752).  The sentiment is from the Teeny Tiny Wishes set (#127802) and the little border on the fussy cut banner was made using the straw from the Mixed Drinks set (141928)  Of course I used Emerald Envy ink (#141396) as well as Emerald Envy cardstock (#141415) because after all, isn’t Ireland referred to as the Emerald Isle?  I added a trimmed  Delicate White Doily (141701) and the Brick Wall Textured Impressions Embossing Folder (#138288) on Crumb Cake cardstock (#120953).

Do you see that Emerald Envy ribbon?  Yep, sponge daubed (#133773)  some Emerald Envy ink onto cheap white satin ribbon from Michaels 🙂  This card may seem to use a lot of parts, but when you make 6 they actually come together fast.  It took more time to get my Emerald Envy stained fingers clean LOL

I hope this card gives you a bit of inspiration and please, do enjoy a glass of green beer while you watch The Quiet Man!  Let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

