Lets CASE Connie!

Good morning Peeps!  April 1st already!  WOW!  I have no pranks for you….but…….

Today I thought I’d try a new feature.  I’m calling it Lets CASE Connie.  First, you may be asking, “Who is Connie, and why should I CASE her”?  Connie is Connie Stewart, you may already know her Web Page Simply Simple Stamping

Connie is a Stampin Up Demonstrator and creator of Flash Cards and Flash Cards 2.0.  She is also my “upline” and my mentor.  I encourage you to check out her videos on YouTube her Flash Cards are SUPER!  My personal style is a more detailed/involved card and I struggle with simple cards.  That’s where her Weekly Challenges come in handy.  She puts out a post that includes a “card sketch” and a couple of cards she designed using the sketch.  When I am in a creative slump but just want to craft I resort to these sketches to get my ideas flowing.

The theory behind CASEing a card is that you can either Copy And Steal Everything.  Meaning duplicate the card exactly.  OR  you can Copy And Share Everything by which you can tweak the design to make it your own.  Either way is fine as long as you give credit to the original designer 🙂

This is the sketch and sample I decided to CASE:

weekly challenge

I TOTALLY “stole” this card.  But wait!  Did I?  Not quite, and thats only because I didn’t have the right color cardstock.  So rather than a piece of DSP adhered to a Pacific Point Cardbase, I attached my DSP to a slighter larger piece of whisper white that I used a sponge dauber with Pacific Point ink to create a border.  Then I adhered both to a white note card.  SEE?  CASED but in my own way.

FullSizeRender(43)

Once I was done with the above card, I tried it with Different DSP in a portrait orientation.

FullSizeRender(44)

So there you have it, my first ever “Lets Case Connie”  I’ll try another next time I’m feeling uninspired 🙂  I’m kind of feeling silly and I think I will whip up a quick April Fool prank for my hubby……

 

2 thoughts on “Lets CASE Connie!

  1. floridaperson says:

    How exciting to have Connie as your upline! You did a marvelous job on sponging the border. I like it! I never thought about doing that when I run out of a particular color of card stock! TFS.

    Like

Leave a Reply

