Window Box Pop Out Cards

Hi Peeps!  Happy Easter!  Today I’m sharing 3 projects I worked on this week.  First let me tell you a little something I learned about myself in the process!

I started out as a scrapbooker!  Really, I did!  One year for Christmas, I thought it would be nice to make an album for each of our family trips to Europe.  At the time, there were just 3…Holland, England and Ireland.  BUT, we have 2 kids, so I actually made NINE 12×12 albums!  OMG by the time I was done, I thought I’d never want to see another scrapbook in my life!  LOL

I really started making cards because I wanted some instant gratification.  I wanted to be able to start a project and finish it the same day!  After my first few cards and they were pretty primitive:

FullSizeRender(25)

I eventually started using my Cricut to help make my cards.  Cricut was in partnership with another card/stamping direct sales company.  That is how I discovered the world of stamping!  I loved how their stamp sets co-ordinated with Cricut images.  I have MS and using scissors to fussy cut is quite a challenge.  Speaking of a challenge, I HATED the ink pads from that company.  They had beautiful colors, don’t get me wrong, the ink pads were just very difficult for me to manage getting open.  Here are a few cards from my Cricut phase:

Then I found Pinterest!!!!  I saw this really cool card but I needed a diagonal score board.  Enter Stampin’ Up!  Here is the card that changed how I crafted:

So what have I discovered about myself?  I’m much more than just a scrapbook-er or a card-maker.  I am a paper-crafter…and I am always evolving!

If you have made it this far into my post, THANK YOU!  Here are my version of the Hexagon Window Box cards.  Stampin’ Up! does carry the framelits to make the box but I made my version using my Cricut Explore, because I wanted to use my own die cut images to personalize it for my needs.  This is the first attempt:

I loved it but there was one major flaw!  It was TOO BIG for even a 5×7 envelope!  So back to the drawing board I went!

It came out cute, but had more of a Wedgewood feel, so I tried again!

What do you think?  Is this more Delft Blue like????  I loved that the flowers and matching framelits reminded me of tulips, perfect right?  Jar of Love Stamp set (#141587) and co-ordinating Everyday Jars Framelits (#141490) can be purchased from me, ordering information is at the end of this post.  I added a dragonfly and a bee to the flowers, just to add a little something!  I’m going to make a few options and try to sell them on Etsy, wish me luck!

One more look at all 3 of my projects:

IMG_9462

I hope you have a fabulous Easter!

how-to-order

Save

Leave a Reply

