Joy of Sets Maiden Challenge

Hi peeps!  Today I’m sharing a card I made specifically for The Joy of Sets Challenge.  This is from a Facebook group by the same name that showcases cards or projects from Stampin Up Stamp Sets both current and retired.  This is the first challenge I’ve ever entered and its The Joy of Sets first ever Challenge!

I watched a fabulous YouTube video last night from the amazing Jennifer McGuire on Watercolor Block Stamping.  Her cards are always stunning!  I decided I would give it a go just for this challenge!  The stamp set I chose for the letter F challenge was Flowering Fields, now retired.  After adding Real Red, Pumpkin Pie, Daffodil Delight and Old Olive ink to my acrylic block I spritzed the block with water and simply laid my block on a piece of watercolor paper.  After waiting 5 minutes I removed the block and let dry.  Once dry I stamped my image with VersaMark and added black embossing powder and heat set.  For my first try I think it came out really pretty!  I used a sentiment from Teeny Tiny Wishes (still available) and added my panel to a note card.  Ta da!  This was one of the simplest cards Ive ever made, but it still packs a punch!

IMG_1353(1)

I hope you enjoyed my challenge entry and check out The Joy of Sets, you will be inspired to take out some of your older sets again!  Or better yet, try them with a new set 😉

how-to-order

 

14 thoughts on “Joy of Sets Maiden Challenge

  1. christine says:

    What a super card using blocks a background. I must try this technique. Thank you for supprting our Joy of Sets Blog Challenge. xx

    Like

  2. craftystamping says:

    Hi Liza – seems my previous reply didn’t get through so I’ll try again – a great card and I’m so pleased your first entry into a challenge was our first Challenge entry! lol! Thanks for joining in with us.

    Like

  3. Jackie Aitken says:

    Congrats on entering your first challenge Liza! I remember how daunting it was to enter my first blog challenge, so well done you! I absolutely love Jennifer’s work and adore the creations achieved using this technique. Your card is stunning Liza, such striking colours. Thanks for playing along with us at JOS Blog Challenge.

    Like

  4. Fiona Whitehead says:

    Congratulations Liza you are our first winner. Please pop over to the blog to get your badge. All winners are invited to be our guest designer for a future challenge – please email me at fmwhitehead@icloud.com if you would like to be our Gest Designer for JOS#003

    Like

  5. sallystampers says:

    Stunning card Liza. I love this and I’m so glad you joined us AND won the challenge. Brilliant. Hope you play along again. Thankyou for joining us.x

    Like

Leave a Reply

