Christmas in July!

Good morning!  This heading may be a little misleading because although I actually did make this project in July, it is not being posted until August 1.  I mentioned in a prior post that I won the 1st Challenge in the Joy of Sets Challenge Blog.  Not only was I able to wear my winner badge proudly, I was also asked to be a guest designer for the #JOS003 Challenge!  The Challenge this time was to create a card/project with any current or retired Stampin’ Up! Stamp Set that had a word starting with the letter C in its title.  I chose the Hostess Set “In The City

I’m not going to lie, I actually made 2.  I wasn’t really “sold” on my original card and when I asked my daughter (she is 26 and my own personal critic lol) she said it was “nice” but seemed plain compared to my usual stuff!  I will post this card at the end of this post in case it may inspire you.  Back to the drawing board I went!

I stamped out my little village scene from the In The City set and then fussy cut to make a border.

IMG_1704

Now , what to do with it?  I had so much fun with my This Little Piggy shadow box last week, I decided I would make another!  I decided to do a Christmas in July project and thought, wouldn’t it be cute, if the flying pigs pulled my sleigh from the Santa’s Sleigh Stamp Set and the co-ordinating Santa’s Sleigh Dies Thinlits.  Added 3 little piggies (and of course gave one a red nose!)  Santa hats are easy enough to hand draw and cut, but I do have a Cricut so I just cut one that fit my Santa Pig!

final

I should thank my daughter for her critique because I just love how this turned out!  I would also like to thank Fiona and her design team for allowing me to be a guest designer!  It was a fun experience!  Please check out the The Joy of Sets Challenge Blog to see what the Design Team has come up with for the letter C challenge and I hope to see one of your creations added as well!

P.S. As promised, here was my first attempt, along side my actual blog entry.  Did I make the right choice?  Are you inspired?  Come back again next week to see what I have up my sleeve!  Will it be yet another Pig card?

Tutorial for Shadow Box can be found here.

 

how-to-order

 

 

18 thoughts on “Christmas in July!

  1. Fiona Whitehead says:

    Such a cute card Liza – so much detail has gone into this – its an inspired way of using those little pigs. Thank you for being our Guest Designer for this week – i’m sure you will be back again.

    Like

  2. Jackie Aitken says:

    Fantastic Shadow Box Card Liza! Stunning combination of different bundles that work amazing together. I adore all the little details – the red nose, white wings and Santa hat on the piggys. The night sky and lights on in the houses is another fabulous detail which I just adore. Great to have you as this weeks Guest Designer, you smashed the challenge, and agree with Fiona, I’m sure this won’t be your last visit as a GD x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

